Ipsy Glambag: August

Seeing as I just got my September bag today, I figured it was about time I tried to get the post about my August bag up! I’ve tested and tried all my goodies,  but getting the actual posts done when you have a little one is a bit more of a challenge.

August Glambag

I was pretty pleased with my haul this month, that the bag was cute as hell, too. They were going for a “back to school” vibe, and the pencil case shape of the bag definitely helped them to pull that off.

The only full sized product was the lip balm from Absolute New York. I got the grape flavour, and I must say that I love it. For those of you that have any food sensitivities, be warned: this stuff has aspartame in it for some reason. I try to apply as little as possible, and I don’t lick my lips when I have it on. I do find that it leaves my lips soft, and I’m a sucker for anything that comes in a tin. Because of a few less than stellar ingredients, I don’t know if I would go out of my way to repurchase this, but I will use what I have.

The rest of the samples were tiny. The Silk Kajal from Lord and Berry, while a great little liner, was about the length of my index finger. I didn’t really mind, though, seeing as I have an abundance of liners already. This stuff goes a rich, dark black. It’s great for getting a velvety, precise line, and even better for smudging. I also found it really easy to get off without  making a huge mess all over my face. I don’t own a huge number of kohl liners, but I would go back to this brand again.

Lord&Berry SwatchCoastal Scents is one of those companies that I’ve heard a lot about, but never taken the time to investigate further, so I was really looking forward to trying out the blush duo that I got in my bag. I was surprised at how much pigment got on my brush from one small wipe. When I applied it to my face, I have to admit that it didn’t take a lot of product to make me look like a prostitute from the ’80s. The colours are really nice, but you need a really light hand to apply them. The blush itself, in my opinion, is average, and there are other brands that I can get without having to mail order that I like more, so I probably won’t be repurchasing these in the future.

Coastal Scents Blush Swatch

The Dr. Brandt pores no more was another one I was hopeful about. It feels a little oily when you first apply it, at least it did on my skin, but it does do a great ob of making the large pores on my nose look reduced. The downside? It makes my long wearing foundation not so long wearing. I use Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour Full Coverage, and after a few hours I was noticing areas of shine that wouldn’t normally be there with my regular Smashbox primer. I’m probably going to try a few different modes of application to see if I can get it to perform the way I think it should, but for now, especially for the price of a full size product, this one won’t be a repeat for me either.

The mascara, on the other hand, is lovely. It’s not often that I’m disappointed in an Urban Decay product, and the Perversion Mascara lived up to expectations. I wouldn’t go so far as to call it a waterproof, but it doesn’t flake or smudge, even them I sleep on it, yet it’s easy to remove when I want it to come off. It’s rich and black, adding both volume and length, but doesn’t clump. I’m looking forward to trying with with the matching Subversion primer.

The look I put together with this bag was:

photo 1I’m looking forward to getting to play with some of the new goodies I got in my September bag over the weekend, and I still have loads of sample reviews, and a Topbox review, to get to. For now, I hope you enjoyed this look (back) at the August ipsy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

