Beauty on the Cheap: Joe Fresh

Let me start off by saying that I had no idea Joe Fresh did make up. I’ve purchased their clothes in the past, both for myself and my son, and I’ve been more than impressed. The combination of price point and quality is spot on, so naturally I was curious as to whether the make up line would be the same.

I grabbed two items: a palette from the clearance bin and a full priced long-wear lipstick. The palette included a trio of coordinating eye shadows, a matte lipstick, and an eye shadow brush.

Joe Fresh palette in Just Peachy

Joe Fresh palette in Just Peachy

The palette was on sale for $6, which was just over 50% off. For that price, I really couldn’t pass it up. The shadows look like they have a bit of a shimmer in the pan, but I found that they went on with more of a matte finish. The brush was a surprise. Most brushes that come in sets like this are abysmal, but this one is actually decent, and will be good for touch-ups on the go.

The lipstick is a great colour, but I wasn’t sure about the quality when I first applied it. It looked dry, and seemed to gravitate towards the creases in my lips. For me, the mark of a good matte lipstick is that it looks matte and feels cream. This wasn’t really giving me that, so I played around with application a little to make it work. By applying a lip balm first and lining with a MAC lip pencil in Subculture, I found the finish to be quite nice. It lasted fairly well, but I did need to reapply after eating if I wanted the best look.

For my eyes, I used the peach-pink all over my lids, blending up towards my brow bone. I used the brown in the outer corners of my crease, and the vanilla as a highlighter under my brow. The colours work very well together, and I’ve also used them separately to great effect. They blended well and had a nice amount of pigment payoff, but keep in mind that I always use Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion when I apply any type of eye colour.

Here is the final look:

Just Peachy Face and Maven NailsI had already been outside for a large chunk of time that day, but sweating and being in the sun had no adverse effects on the products. When you have hot summers, this is always a plus. I don’t know if I would pay full price, but on clearance this palette was a  hell of a deal.

Now, for the long-wear lipstick. I’m a huge fan of long-wear lipsticks; the less I have to worry about what my lip are doing throughout the day, the better. This is especially true now that I have a little grabbing at my face all the time. If I can put something on and know that there’s less chance of him smudging it, all the better. I have several lipsticks already that do the trick; I needed to know how this one compared.

Joe Fresh Fuschia Long Wear

As you can see, the box claims that it will go for six hours. Most long-wear colours that I have claim eight or ten, so this made me curious right off the bat. What was different about this formula that took the time down to six hours? I figured that out right when I applied it the first time. It’s a much creamier formula that similar products I’ve tried, and love, like Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick and Sephora Collection Luster Matte Long-Wear Lip Colour. It also does not dry to the touch. Even after having it on for several hours, it will come off if I, or Finn, touches my lips. If I eat or drink there will be colour transfer, but it still hold up well. I didn’t feel the need to reapply. The colour pay out is great, application was smooth, and it didn’t dry my lips. That was a huge bonus.

Here it is in action:

Excuse how crazy my super high prescription glasses make my face look. I am blind; it cant be helped.

Excuse how crazy my super high prescription glasses make my face look. I am blind; it cant be helped.

I really like the colour, and it feels great on my lips. If it didn’t get on my son’s hands so easily, I would definitely go back for more, especially at $8 a tube.

For an impromptu purchase, I’m happy with what I got, and I suggest giving the Joe Fresh line a look-see. Unfortunately, they don’t seem to have any of the products up on the website anymore. I’m not sure if this is because they’re going to be discontinuing the collection or because they want the site to be more focused on the clothes. Either way, hit up a Superstore and check it out.

Products used in both looks:

~Smashbox Photofinish Foundation Primer

~Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original

~Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour Full Coverage Foundation in Fair Sand

~Make-up Forever Super Matter Loose Powder in Translucent Natural

Products used in top look:

~L’Oreal Miss Manga mascara in Blackest Black

~Nyx Blush in Pinched

~POP Beauty Sunkissed Bronzer in Secret Sunshine

Products used in bottom look:

~Tarte EmphasEYES Waterproof Clay Shadow/Liner in Black

~Diorshow Blackout mascara in Kohl Black

~Nyx Blush in Pinky

 

Leave a Reply

