The Walking Dead: Season One – A Game Review

This review may contain spoilers. I’ll try and keep them to a minimum, but I make no promises. With a game like this, it’s going to be hard.

There have been many times when I’ve been reading a comic or graphic novel and thought to myself, “Man, this would make a great game.” Not being a developer or programer type myself, I had no way to make that happen. Luckily for me, Telltale Games exists to make stuff like that for me. No one, in my opinion, does episodic, cell shaded games quite like they do.

In case you’re unaware, the premise is this: the world is gone, and we’re living in the zombie apocalypse. You play the game as Lee, and every choice you make as this character will have an affect on how the rest of the game plays out. This give the game an incredibly high replay value. You can go through the game multiple times and not get quite the same outcome twice, unless you make exactly the same decisions each time.

Keep in mind, this is a Walking Dead story, so it’s violent, grim, and definitely not for children. It’s got a mature rating for a very good reason. That, and it’s incredibly fucking sad. It’s not often that a game can make me cry, but this one did, and on more than one occasion. The game keeps the feel of both the graphic novels and the TV series quite well, and it was really interesting to see how the choices I made impacted what the other characters in the game said and did over the course of the game.

I would best describe the overall feel of the game as a classic adventure game mixed with quick time events (you know, for the zombie killing and such.) The thing I liked about the dialog interactions is that they’re timed. You don’t have forever to make u your mind about what you’re going to say or how you’re going to react; if the timer runs down and you haven’t chosen, you’ve basically chosen to stay silent, and that can have consequences all it’s own.

The graphics are gorgeous, the voice actors did a great job, and i also really enjoyed the writing, which is important in any genre of game where dialog is super heavy. There were characters that I didn’t like, for sure, but that is bound to happen and makes for a better story.

This game is a definite 5/5 in all categories, and I picked up the second season as soon as I was finished. You’ll get a review of that when all the episodes have been released and completed. Also, for reference, I have the Walking Dead on PS3, but I did grab The Wolf Among Us on Steam so I could compare platforms. Don’t worry, I’ve got you guys covered 😉

Also, we’re currently smack in the middle of the Steam Summer Sale. What have you guys been picking up? How many games have you grabbed? Let me know. It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Leave a Reply

