Getting Exciting News!

I had my 36 week check up today. Unfortunately, today was the day for my internal exam, and that was less than pleasant. Things have been so sensitive during my pregnancy that I was actually dreading it. Tensing up probably didn’t help, but hey. W got it done and over with, and the results were exactly what I was hoping for.

I’m between 2 and 3 centimetres dilated, and my cervix has gotten nice and thin!

If I’m being completely honest, this news almost made me cry. Not only will I most likely deliver early, but we’re going to get to meet our son soon. Honestly, things could start happening any time, and I got a little overwhelmed by that fact on the drive home. I was alternating between talking excitedly to my bump and convincing myself that I didn’t need to burst in to tears.

It’s good to know that all the contractions that have been waking me up any time I actually manage to fall asleep have been doing something productive. I don’t mind discomfort, as long as it has a purpose. Sure, most of my pregnancy has been uncomfortable and less than fun, but it just needed to keep the goal in my head: we are having a baby, and this is all part of the process.

Thank god we got the baby’s room done. I was starting to get worried that we would have nothing ready,he would decide that it was time to come out, and then I would have a panic because all he had was a crib set up. I’ve even gotten my butt in gear and started gathering the things I’m going to want to take to the hospital. Now, knowing that this baby could decide to come whenever he feels ready, I have extra incentive. Al his clothes are washed and sorted, his diapers are purchased, and the baby shower invitations have been sent out. It’s kind of weirded to think that there may be a baby at the shower after all. Hopefully he’ll wait until after the nineteenth, because it’s the middle of flu season, and I don’t trust everyone to have gotten their flu shot.

I’m rambling. I know that. It’s just been a very overwhelming day. His heart beat is great (between 145 and 155), my blood pressure is right on where it should be (122/80), and all my bloodwork came back clean. I was a little worried when I had some sugar in my urine at my last appointment, but I’m just going to blame the spike on the increase in sweets and desserts I was eating over Christmas.

Now I need to decide if I want to do a membrane sweep next week to try and speed things along. That idea is appealing as long as I don’t think about the fact that it’s most likely not going to feel nice. Mind you, labour and delivery aren’t going to be a cake walk, so I may just need to suck it up.

I’m having a baby. Any time now. Holy shit.

2 thoughts on “Getting Exciting News!

Leave a Reply

