On Having Another Ultrasound

Today was awesome. I’m not going to lie. Aside from the fact that I had to pee horribly the entire time (and that my back started killing me towards the end), our nineteen week ultrasound was amazing. I have seen ultrasound pictures before, but when it’s your own Tiny Human, it’s completely different. I knew that the Tiny Human had grown since the beginning of July, and substantially at that, but actually seeing that it looks like a little person was unreal.

We got to see the heart, beating away in the tiny chest. We took a look at the stomach, the kidneys and the brain. We saw it’s tiny limbs moving. It wouldn’t let us get a good look at it’s face; every time the sonographer tried, it put those tiny little arms up so all we could see was it’s nose and lips. That did give us a great view of the tiny hands and arms. We saw the little legs, the belly, the feet… we got to see our Tiny Human from every angle possible. It was glorious.

Oh, I should probably also mention that the Tiny Human has become the Little Man. That’s right, odds are we’re having a boy. There are no 100% guarantees (there never are), but what we saw poking out between the little legs looked like boy parts to us. The sonographer agreed, but she said that it’s not 100%. I’m happy calling it a him from now on.

I thought I would have more of a reaction on finding out the sex, but I think the panicky psycho that lives in my head was content to know that there were no major issues to be seen. We got the go ahead to leave without having to speak to the radiologist, and that’s always a good sign. The sex, while exciting and a good thing to know, seemed secondary to seeing all the little limbs and organs in the right spot. I honestly didn’t think we would get such a clear view of the heart beating!

And now, take a look at some pictures of our son! (saying that is still so weird).

Ta da It's a baby! This is mostly a good view of his little head (in profile) and his torso. You can also see some little fingers peeking over his belly.

Ta da It’s a baby! This is mostly a good view of his little head (in profile) and his torso. You can also see some little fingers peeking over his belly.

This one reminds me of a little skeleton! His mouth was open ad you can see all his tiny tooth buds, as well as a better view of one arm and one leg. If you look at his tummy, you can also see his intestines making an appearance.

This one reminds me of a little skeleton! His mouth was open ad you can see all his tiny tooth buds, as well as a better view of one arm and one leg. If you look at his tummy, you can also see his intestines making an appearance.

Lastly, his little feet. I just love this. Baby feet are adorable.

Lastly, his little feet. I just love this. Baby feet are adorable.

Our parents were suitably pleased. My mum admitted to tearing up when her and my grandma were talking about it over lunch. My brother is looking forward to being an uncle regardless, but he did mention breaking out the old Star Wars toys. He is also stoked about being a good male role model (regardless of sex), so he’s taking his uncle role very seriously. My mum showed my grandpa the picture I texted her, saying he was going to have a great grandson, and his exact response was “Well, will you look at that!” He’s never really seen an ultrasound picture of any kind, so we think he was surprised about how much you could actually see.

My mum, who is at the tail end of her fall vacation, is taking me shopping tomorrow. We wanted to wait and see if we could get an idea of the sex, because I do want to get a few gender-ish things. A tiny Argyll vest, perhaps? (I’m going to be clear, there would have been some type of dress or frilly something if it was a girl. There just also would have been geeky onsies in ample supply. I like dresses. I PC game in dresses all the time. It’s cool.)

Speaking of shopping, my dad’s full level of excitement came out today. He asked me what, exactly, we needed for the Little Man. When I said “Pretty much everything,” he broke out his little notebook and started making a list. I think he would be just as jazzed to take me shopping as my mum is. It’s adorable.

We do have a name (first and middle), but we’re keeping that to ourselves and immediate family for the moment. If we decide to let it out, I will definitely let you guys know. Like I said, it was an amazing day. We’re having a boy. I’m a week away from being half-way through this pregnancy (where the hell did the time go??) I even got a confirmation of my first appointment with the Obstetric Medicine Clinic at the Lois Hole Hospital for Women, so that’s really awesome. I’m really looking forward to having some additional support and resources when it comes to dealing with and managing my migraines and my migraine pain. I’m pretty knowledgeable, but these people are trained to have the tools to help people with chronic illnesses best deal with pregnancy. I think I’ve been doing all right, but there are still questions I have, and talking to someone who really knows their stuff will be a huge help.

Has anyone else had some great twenty-week ultrasound stories? I would love to hear them, or hear what you hope for an upcoming ultrasound. it’s such an exciting time, and I know I feel absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

