Comics: Saga!

Oh, what can I say about Saga? This book, published by Image Comics, written by Brian K. Vaughan and illustrated by Fiona Staples (a fellow Albertan! Woo!), is one of the best, if not the best, things I’ve read in a long time. We picked it up based on the cover art for Volume 1 and on the recommendation of one of the guys at our comic book store, Happy Harbor. Shawn and I both whizzed through it (twice) in the next 24 hours, and Shawn went out and got Volume 2 the next day.

saga

Why should you read it? Well, aside from the amazing art and brilliant writing, this is a sci-fi (I hate the term Space-Opera, but I guess it fits)/fantasy that includes romance, humour, massive atrocities ,and just enough “What the hell was that?” to add interest. There were several occasions where I turned a page and said, out loud, “What the f*ck???” It’s good though. I like being surprised, and both the art and dialog are able to do that for me.

(I’ve also heard the story called “Romeo and Juliet in Space.” This description, while it fits, it so narrow that I can’t use it reliably. The two main characters do have a forbidden love thing going on, but I don’t think I would go so far as to call their story tragic. At least, it hasn’t been thus far.)

I love the style of the narration. It’s told from the point of view of the main characters’ daughter, who, in the first few pages, has only just been born. It’s really interesting to get her perspective on things that were happening when she wasn’t even old enough to be aware of them yet.

Give this book a shot. Trust me. It won the Eisner Award for Best Series! I’m obviously not the only one that loves it. Volumes 1 and 2 go up to issue twelve, and as of now, we’re back to monthlies. Pick up the first volume, devour it, and let me know what you think.

Also, Lying Cat is the shit.

3 thoughts on “Comics: Saga!

  1. I absolutely love this series, and couldn’t believe it when I found out that Fiona Staples was a fellow Albertan!!! Hopefully she will be at Edmonton Expo to get the volumes signed or what not. Lying Cat is totally the shit!

    Like

    • Apparently, she’s done a few signings at Happy Harbor! I would love to meet her, and I may have to go back and get the awesome Lying Cat shirt they had. It made me drool a little πŸ™‚

      I would love it if she was at the Edmonton Expo!! That is a line I would stand in.

      Like

      • I’ve been trying to get my shop in Lethbridge would be able to get her to come down and do a signing. I think it would be amazing.

        Totally would be worth the line in Edmonton Expo! I know it was for me at Calgary Expo earlier this year to get my volume one signed.

        Like

Leave a Reply

