On Nothing In Particular, Part II

The last few days have been remarkably kind to me. Yesterday, we managed to clean the whole house. Today, I did the dishes and did four loads of laundry. I can’t remember when the last time was that I got this much accomplished. Of course, I couldn’t have done it without Shawn. I’m trying to avoid using certain cleaners, and that means he has to take care of some things. Cleaning the toilet, for example, falls under his purview now, which makes sense: he makes most of the mess that requires the cleaning. I really am lucky to have someone who is so willing to help out when I need it. I know that not all husbands are the same.

I did get a bit of a migraine as the day progressed, but it was no wonder. We had a hell of a thunderstorm last night. I haven’t seen that much lightning in the sky in ages! I had the blinds on our living room window half closed, and I could still see everything, as clear as if I was outside. It rained. It hailed. The light show was spectacular. Our clean couch got a brand new layer of cat fur on it because Odie, who hates storms, parked himself behind me and shed for the duration of things. He’s spent most of today sleeping, probably because he exhausted himself last night being so terrified for so long.

It still looks a little bleak outside, but I don’t think we’re likely to get a repeat of last night. if we do, I’m going outside to take a better look. Shawn is off work for the next few days, so I’ll have someone to supervise me and make sure I don’t so anything stupid. I tend to get a little more brave than is practical sometimes (unless we’re talking about roller coasters), and having a firm hand on my reins is never a bad thing.

My “no vomiting” streak was sadly ended today. I don’t know if it was residual crap from the migraine, or whether the Tiny Human was protesting the fact that I chose to have a nap instead of stay up and snack. It was just the once, though, so I’m counting that as an improvement. I think I slept better last night, but it’s hard to tell because I stayed up until the worst of the storm was done, and my bladder seemed to be bugging me more than normal. But hey, we’re having a baby, and I can’t complain about that!

Speaking of the baby, I booked my 18-20 week ultrasound today, which means I’m starting to get really excited again. It’s not until September 11, but it’s in the books, and that’s awesome. Hopefully, we’ll be able to find out the sex. As I said to my OB the last time we saw her, this kid owes me a good view of it’s junk. I’ve been putting up with an awful lot on it’s behalf, so the least it can do is give us a clear picture of the goods. I don’t do well with surprises, and waiting to find out the sec of the Tiny Human is no exception. My dad says he doesn’t want to know, but I think he’s lying. He might think he doesn’t want to know, but if we find out, he will. Besides, we’re planning on starting to refer to it by it’s name, as opposed to Spegg, the nickname my dad gave to it. (If you haven’t figured it out, that’s a combination of sperm and egg. I know, lame and cute at the same time.)

Tomorrow, we get some distraction from baby stuff because we’re meeting with our photographer to go over our wedding pictures! I’m so excited! We had an unplugged ceremony, so I’ve seen no shots from that part of the day yet. I’m actually surprised that everyone was so good about our request to have no cameras out. We’re going to have a lot to look at tomorrow, and I’m already prepared to cry, a lot. I was a wreck walking down the aisle, and that was with minimal, 4-week hormones on board. Now, I’m doomed. I’m a crier as it is, so I’m going to need to break out the waterproof makeup. I just hope it’s a few happy tears and not a full on, snot riddled ugly cry. That would suck, even if it would be understandable.

After we get the photos back, I have the unpleasant task of getting in touch with a certain relative who’s photos of our wedding are all of her child. There are a few I don’t really want her to put up, so I have to send her a politely worded Facebook message letting her know that the dark, unrotated and blurry picture of us cutting the cake and the picture of her kid in front of the head table (where all our heads are cut off just below the chin) are not pictures we want out in public. If she doesn’t want to e-mail me the pictures like I asked, she can take down the ones we don’t want seen. This has been one of my only major bride-cthulu things, and I’m sticking to my guns about it.

Naturally, there will be a post with all the awesome pictures from our photography team, but until then, I’m going to post some more from my ‘maid, Cynthia. She got some good ones, and I can’t keep them to myself. Enjoy!

More dancing fun. The dance floor never looked full because it was so huge.

More dancing fun. The dance floor never looked full because it was so huge.

DSC_0206

A wildly inappropriate (and hilarious) use of the finger tentacle. I'm pretty sure our dear friend William is the one doing the boob hoisting.

A wildly inappropriate (and hilarious) use of the finger tentacle. I’m pretty sure our dear friend William is the one doing the boob hoisting.

I'm not sure when this was, but it's a nice picture. If I could, I would wear that dress every day for the rest of my life.

I’m not sure when this was, but it’s a nice picture. If I could, I would wear that dress every day for the rest of my life.

This is what William's face looks like. He is also another former co-worker and boss, and is a ton of fun.

This is what William’s face looks like. He is also another former co-worker and boss, and is a ton of fun.

For some reason, he refused to eat his own hot dog, but kept pretending to take bites of mine.

For some reason, he refused to eat his own hot dog, but kept pretending to take bites of mine.

This, while hilarious, is also slightly disturbing. It's not a look I ever wanted to see on my friends face, ;-)

This, while hilarious, is also slightly disturbing. It’s not a look I ever wanted to see on my friends face, 😉

This is the great set-up we had for both cards, and the wedding mad-libs we had our guests fill out. It looks great with our borrowed teacups and Ikea vases.

This is the great set-up we had for both cards, and the wedding mad-libs we had our guests fill out. It looks great with our borrowed teacups and Ikea vases.

Cynthia taking a moment with my handsome husband. This is also a great shot of his bout, with the Finn figure I made for him.

Cynthia taking a moment with my handsome husband. This is also a great shot of his bout, with the Finn figure I made for him.

This is a horrible picture of my brother. I don't know what's happened to his face, but he's normally not that goofy looking.

This is a horrible picture of my brother. I don’t know what’s happened to his face, but he’s normally not that goofy looking.

This is pretty self explanatory. Shawn was against going up my skirt, but the crowd  insisted. It was amusing.

This is pretty self explanatory. Shawn was against going up my skirt, but the crowd insisted. It was amusing.

His subsequent throw was terrible. I nearly got mowed over.

His subsequent throw was terrible. I nearly got mowed over.

The back of my dress! It was originally a zipper closure, and you can't even tell it had work done to it.

The back of my dress! It was originally a zipper closure, and you can’t even tell it had work done to it.

Cynthia with former co-worker Kelvin and his awesome girlfriend Melissa.

Cynthia with former co-worker Kelvin and his awesome girlfriend Melissa.

Posing like a champ in the museum.

Posing like a champ in the museum.

Leave a Reply

